I went to the movies for the first time since the last time I went and don’t remember the name of what I saw…the last, not this time…

This time I went to see Julie & Julia.  It was a clever movie based on the blog and book by Julie Powell.   Meryl Streep is divine as always in her portrayal of the infamous Julia Child.  Amy Adams, who I had never seen before, was darling in her portrayal of a secretary surrounded by overachieving friends and approaching a 0 birthday, 30 in fact. Over the course of one year Julie cooks and blogs her way through Julia Child’s cookbook.

The entire movie made me smile (well except the parts that showed Julie’s husbands eating habits, can you say ewww gross) and I was sad to see these new friends leave at the movies end.  That doesn’t happen often.  This is definetely one movie to add to my stash when it comes out on dvd.  Great chick flick if you like them and if you don’t stay away.

